Literacy Life

Reading, Writing and the pursuit of thinner thighs

Goodbye and Hello!

on March 13, 2013

After five years of literacy professional development, I am making a move back to the classroom. I couldn’t be more excited. I taught for 13 years before coming on as a trainer with Missouri Reading Initiative. It’s hard to believe that change happened only 5 short years ago. Time flies when you’re having fun! Although as the saying goes…all good things must come to an end. It’s time for a change.

I am so excited to announce ~ insert a drum roll and glorious announcer’s voice here ~ I am going to be a 6th grade Reading and Social Studies teacher at Strafford Middle School. Officially an Indian. This move is going to allow me to cultivate my deep love of motivating and guiding readers while incorporating literacy instruction in a content area. 

I decided to keep this blog even though my teaching path has taken a turn. I mean, literacy is my life!  Instead of this blog being a forum for my occasional rants, brilliant ideas or links to teaching treasures as I originally planned, it will become a scrapbook of my classroom evolution. Essentially I hope to post most of my decisions about crafting a place where readers will flourish. I hope you’ll join me on my new Literacy Life path.

I’ve been working with teachers for a while, but I’m guessing the transition back to students won’t be so hard. Stay tuned, I’ll let you know.Image

Leave a Reply

